Support for Hope

Those who can, do. Those who can do more, volunteer.

The Wall December 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Claire Morton @ 3:32 pm

 I don’t think I could kick it off the holiday season any better than with a recap of a successful volunteer event in my own city of Charlotte. I am a member of Newell Presbyterian Church and with their help I was fortunate enough to feed around 100 hungry residents of Charlotte on 11/4/09. On the outskirts of downtown Charlotte there is a known area termed “The Wall” where every Wednesday and Sunday nights, hungry community members line up to be fed by a kind organization that has chosen to volunteer. This past week, Newell stepped up to the plate and brought buckets of KFC along with sides and leftover dinner items from their “Newell Time” which takes place at the church every Wednesday night. I did not expect the outcome and felt conflicted at the emotions that arose from the few hours I spent handing out dinner. I was happy that I could be apart of something that felt so great but I was also saddened to see so many people within my own city that were going hungry. It just goes to show you that you don’t need a ticket to a far off land to do good. You can simply walk the streets in your own neighborhood.

 

Leave a Reply

